Recessed Light Calculator

LAMP TYPE & SPECIFICATION FIELD GUIDE

BR30 vs. PAR30 Bulbs: Reflector, Beam, Size and Location Checks

BR30 and PAR30 share the same nominal 3.75-inch diameter and often the same E26 base, so the size code alone does not separate them. The difference is the reflector: a BR (bulged reflector) lamp spreads light widely, while a PAR (parabolic aluminized reflector) lamp shapes it into a stated beam. Height and location ratings can differ too, so compare exact SKUs before swapping one for the other.

SAME FAMILY, SAME 8 W AND 650 LM

BR30
Wide spread · 5.118 in tall · damp
PAR30LN
40° or 25° beam · 4.528 in · wet
PAR30
40° or 25° beam · 3.622 in · wet
Fixture
Its own label decides

Values are from one LEDVANCE / SYLVANIA product family. Other BR30 and PAR30 lamps can differ.

BR30 Spreads Light; PAR30 Aims It

The main difference between BR30 and PAR30 is how the reflector shapes light. A BR30 gives a wide, softer spread for general downlighting; a PAR30 directs light into a defined beam, sold as narrow flood, flood and similar options, for task, accent or outdoor use. In one SYLVANIA family the BR30 and PAR30 have identical watts and lumens, so neither is simply “brighter.”

In those same records, the PAR30 versions are also shorter than the BR30 and are marked for wet locations, while the BR30 is marked for damp locations. Those are product-record facts, not rules for every lamp. Before replacing one with the other in a recessed light, confirm what the housing and trim allow, how far the shorter or taller lamp will sit from the trim, and whether the complete fixture is rated for the location.

Bulged Reflector vs. Parabolic Aluminized Reflector

BR stands for bulged reflector and PAR for parabolic aluminized reflector. LEDVANCE describes BR lamps as having a wider diffusion angle and softer light, common in household downlights, and PAR lamps as directing light into a narrow or wide beam. The number after the letters is the nominal diameter in eighths of an inch.

BR30, PAR30LN and PAR30 side-view comparison Three lamps drawn to one scale from the cited product records hang from the same socket line. All are 3.74 inches wide. The BR30 is 5.118 inches tall with a rounded face and a wide, soft spread whose angle the record does not report. The PAR30LN is 4.528 inches and the short-neck PAR30 3.622 inches tall; both have flat faces and a 40 degree flood beam. A shorter lamp places its face higher in the same housing. same socket position BR30 5.118 in PAR30LN 4.528 in PAR30 3.622 in
BR30
3.74 in (95 mm) wide, 5.118 in (130 mm) tall; rounded face, wide soft spread (beam angle not reported).
PAR30LN (long neck)
3.74 in (95 mm) wide, 4.528 in (115 mm) tall; flat face, 40° flood beam in this SKU.
PAR30 (short neck)
3.74 in (95 mm) wide, 3.622 in (92 mm) tall; flat face, 40° flood beam in this SKU.
Socket line
With the socket fixed, the shorter lamp’s face sits higher, deeper inside the housing.
Original conceptual side view. Widths and heights use one scale from the cited LEDVANCE / SYLVANIA records (PDF p.3); outlines, the screw base and the shaded light are simplified. The shading is not photometric data, and the BR30 spread is illustrative because its record reports no beam angle.

A beam angle tells you how wide the main cone of light is. The PAR30 records list a 25° narrow flood and a 40° flood version; the matching BR30 record lists no beam angle at all. That blank is “not reported,” not a number you should fill in from another product. If you need beam or distribution data for a BR lamp, get it from that exact SKU’s manufacturer documentation; the spec-sheet guide shows which fields to read.

Three Same-Family SKU Records Side by Side

These SYLVANIA Contractor Series 5CCT records come from one LEDVANCE family document, with the same 8 W, 650 lm, CRI 80, E26 base, 120 V and selectable color temperatures. That keeps output constant, so the visible differences are reflector type, beam data, height and location statement.

BR30

Item 42575 · SYLVANIA LED8BR30DIM8SC310YVRP

Beam angle
Not reported
Overall height
5.118 in (130 mm)
Location
Damp location
Output
650 lm · 8 W

PAR30LN (long neck)

Item 42569 · SYLVANIA LED8PAR30LNDIM8SC310YVFL40WRP

Beam angle
40° (flood)
Overall height
4.528 in (115 mm)
Location
Wet location
Output
650 lm · 8 W

PAR30 (short neck)

Item 42567 · SYLVANIA LED8PAR30DIM8SC310YVFL40WRP

Beam angle
40° (flood)
Overall height
3.622 in (92 mm)
Location
Wet location
Output
650 lm · 8 W
Selected LEDVANCE / SYLVANIA Contractor Series 5CCT records (LED620R3, 1-26), downloaded November 4, 2026. Ordering values are on PDF p.2, physical dimensions on p.3, and location, dimming and enclosure lines on p.1. Narrow-flood siblings PAR30LN item 42570 (25°) and PAR30 item 42568 (25°) share the other listed values.
FieldBR30Item 42575 · SYLVANIA LED8BR30DIM8SC310YVRPPAR30LN (long neck)Item 42569 · SYLVANIA LED8PAR30LNDIM8SC310YVFL40WRPPAR30 (short neck)Item 42567 · SYLVANIA LED8PAR30DIM8SC310YVFL40WRP
Reflector typeName conventionBulged reflectorParabolic aluminized reflectorParabolic aluminized reflector
Beam anglePDF p.2Not reported40° (flood)40° (flood)
LumensPDF p.2650 lm650 lm650 lm
Nominal wattsPDF p.28 W8 W8 W
Actual diameterPDF p.33.74 in (95 mm)3.74 in (95 mm)3.74 in (95 mm)
Overall heightPDF p.35.118 in (130 mm)4.528 in (115 mm)3.622 in (92 mm)
BasePDF p.2E26 mediumE26 mediumE26 medium
VoltagePDF p.2120 V120 V120 V
CRIPDF p.2808080
CCTPDF p.22700/3000/3500/4000/5000 K (switch)2700/3000/3500/4000/5000 K (switch)2700/3000/3500/4000/5000 K (switch)
Location statementPDF p.1Damp locationWet locationWet location
DimmingPDF p.1–2Listed dimmableListed dimmableListed dimmable
Enclosed fixturesPDF p.1Not stated (only A19 is listed as approved for enclosed fixtures)Not stated (only A19 is listed as approved for enclosed fixtures)Not stated (only A19 is listed as approved for enclosed fixtures)

Treat these as an example of how to compare lamps, not as typical values. Another manufacturer’s BR30 can report a beam angle, a PAR30 can have a different output, and either can carry different location or enclosure language.

Same Diameter, Different Height and Face Position

BR30 and PAR30 both mean 30 eighths of an inch, or 3.75 in nominal diameter, and the three cited records each list 3.74 in (95 mm). Height is what changes: 5.118 in for the BR30, 4.528 in for the PAR30LN and 3.622 in for the short-neck PAR30.

In a recessed housing the socket stays where it is, so a shorter lamp puts its face higher inside the can and a taller one brings it closer to the trim opening. That changes how much of the lamp shows, how the trim cuts off light, and whether the lamp clears the trim at all. Housing and trim labels can list specific lamp types for this reason, which is why “PAR30” and “PAR30LN” should not be treated as interchangeable labels.

For BR diameter codes beyond 30, see BR30 vs. BR40; to measure the opening, trim and body separately, use the recessed-light measurement sequence.

Damp vs. Wet: The Lamp Rating Is Not the Fixture Rating

In the cited family, the BR30 is listed as suitable for damp locations and the PAR30 and PAR30LN as suitable for wet locations. A wet-listed lamp alone does not make an open recessed fixture, its trim or its wiring suitable where water can reach it.

Moisture without direct water

A damp listing on the lamp speaks only to the lamp. Find out what rating the location requires, then confirm that the complete fixture and trim carry it.

Showers and exposed outdoor spots

Check that the whole assembly is rated for the actual exposure. A wet-listed PAR30 in a fixture that is not rated for that location does not solve the rating question; see recessed lighting in a shower.

Enclosure is a separate question again. The cited document lists enclosed-fixture approval only for its A19 lamps, so do not assume either the BR30 or PAR30 records approve use in an enclosed or insulated fixture; check the lamp and fixture instructions, and see IC rating checks for the housing itself.

Can You Replace a BR30 With a PAR30 in a Recessed Light?

Sometimes. When the housing or trim lists both lamp types, a PAR30 of the right neck length can replace a BR30, but the light changes: a 40° or 25° beam lights a smaller area more strongly and leaves more of the ceiling and walls darker. A matching E26 base only shows that it screws in.

Before buying

Photograph the housing label and trim marking for listed lamp types, maximum wattage and any socket-position or neck-length note. Record the old lamp’s full marking. Choose a candidate whose current product record gives height, beam angle, lumens and location rating.

Before installing

Switch off the circuit, confirm the new lamp’s height against the trim, and check dimmer compatibility and location conditions. The recessed bulb replacement guide covers identifying a removable lamp safely.

Changing every can from BR30 to a narrower PAR30 can leave dim gaps between lights if the layout was spaced for a wide spread. Recheck spacing with the new lamp’s beam angle and lumens before swapping a whole room.

Choose by Situation

Pick the reflector for the light you need, then confirm the fixture accepts that exact lamp. The table pairs common situations with the evidence to collect first.

Situation → evidence to collect → practical next action.
SituationCollect firstNext action
Even general light across a roomHousing lamp list, lumens and any distribution data for a BR candidate.A wide-spread lamp is the usual fit; check the count and spacing in the layout calculator.
Focused light on a counter, island or artworkPAR candidate’s beam angle (narrow flood vs. flood) and mounting height.Use the stated beam angle to judge the pool of light; confirm PAR30 vs. PAR30LN with the trim.
Covered outdoor or possibly wet spotFixture and trim location rating plus the lamp’s location statement.Treat the complete fixture rating as the deciding check; a wet-listed lamp does not upgrade it.
Shallow can or trim that lists one lampTrim marking, socket position and the lamp’s overall height.Stay with the listed lamp type and height; do not choose from the 30-size code alone.

The calculator estimates general-lighting count and layout from the lumens and beam angle you enter. It does not identify a lamp, approve a substitution or validate fixture ratings.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the difference between PAR30 and PAR30LN?

LN means long neck. In the cited SYLVANIA Contractor Series records both have a 3.74 in diameter, but the PAR30 is 3.622 in tall and the PAR30LN is 4.528 in tall. Check which neck length the housing or trim calls for, because the shorter lamp sits deeper in the fixture.

Is PAR30 brighter than BR30?

Not by type alone. In the cited records the BR30 and both PAR30 versions are all 8 W and 650 lm. A PAR lamp concentrates its output into a stated beam, so the area inside that beam can look brighter while the surrounding ceiling and walls receive less. Compare lumens and beam data for the exact SKUs.

Should I use BR30 or PAR30 in a kitchen?

It depends on the job. LEDVANCE describes BR lamps as common in household downlights where even light is wanted, and PAR lamps as a way to direct light into a narrow or wide beam, which suits focused light over a counter or island. Confirm that the housing and trim allow the lamp type, then check the layout with the actual beam and lumen values.

Can a BR30 be used outdoors or in a shower?

The cited BR30 is marked suitable for damp locations, while the PAR30 and PAR30LN are marked suitable for wet locations. A wet-listed lamp does not make an open fixture or trim wet-rated, so check the location rating of the complete fixture and trim for any spot that can be exposed to water.

How does PAR38 compare with BR30?

PAR38 is a larger lamp: its number means about 38 eighths of an inch, or 4.75 in nominal diameter, versus 3.75 in for BR30 and PAR30. It will not fit every fixture that takes a 30-size lamp. Compare the exact PAR38 product drawing and the fixture’s allowed lamp types, as you would for BR30 vs. BR40.

Sources and Scope

Maintained by Recessed Light Calculator. This is a lamp-type and product-check guide, not a lamp test, photometric report, installation instruction or universal compatibility chart. The diagram is original and conceptual; only its widths and heights follow the cited records.

Recheck the current lamp and fixture documentation for the exact model, configuration and installation before purchase or replacement. To report a correction, use Contact.