LAMP SIZE & SPECIFICATION FIELD GUIDE
BR30 vs. BR40 Bulbs: Size, Fit and Light Checks
BR30 and BR40 name nominal bulb diameters, not recessed-fixture cutouts. A BR40 is nominally wider than a BR30, but the right replacement still depends on the actual lamp envelope, fixture or trim instructions, electrical conditions, location rating, and the light data for the exact SKU.
KEEP THREE QUESTIONS SEPARATE
- BR30
- 30/8 = 3.75 in nominal
- BR40
- 40/8 = 5.00 in nominal
- Fixture size
- Separate aperture/cutout label
- Light
- Exact SKU data
Do not substitute a nominal name, base type, or fixture opening for a product drawing and its instructions.
BR40 Is Wider; It Is Not a Universal Upgrade
BR30 means a nominal maximum diameter of 30 eighths of an inch (3.75 in); BR40 means 40 eighths (5.00 in). That difference can affect whether the lamp clears a trim or obstruction and how it looks at the ceiling. It does not establish that a BR40 is brighter, has a wider beam, fits every “6-inch can,” or can replace a BR30 safely.
Start with the old lamp’s full marking and the fixture documentation. Then compare the exact replacement’s diameter and length, base and voltage, dimmer or control requirements, thermal or enclosed-fixture limits, and dry/damp/wet-location language. Only after that should you compare delivered lumens, CCT/CRI, and distribution or beam data.
The BR Number Names the Bulb Diameter, Not the Ceiling Opening
In this lamp nomenclature, the number is expressed in eighths of an inch: 30 ÷ 8 = 3.75 in and 40 ÷ 8 = 5.00 in. Those are nominal maximum bulb diameters. Product records can use a slightly different actual diameter, and they list length separately.
- BR30
- 30 ÷ 8 = 3.75 in nominal diameter
- BR40
- 40 ÷ 8 = 5.00 in nominal diameter
- Fixture opening
- A separate housing, trim or cutout measurement.
A “4-inch” or “6-inch” recessed fixture can refer to a housing, aperture, trim, or cutout convention. It does not convert directly to a BR lamp designation. Use the exact fixture’s documentation and the recessed-light measurement sequence to record the opening, trim, body and accessible space separately.
Can I Replace a BR30 With a BR40?
Sometimes, but only when the proposed BR40 is documented to work in the existing fixture and the larger actual lamp envelope clears the trim and nearby parts. The shared E26 medium base on many examples only addresses the socket interface; it does not prove fixture, thermal, dimmer, location, or optical compatibility.
Before buying
Photograph the lamp and fixture labels. Record the existing lamp’s actual diameter and overall length, then find the candidate’s current product page or data sheet. Do not estimate clearance from a package photo.
Before installing
Compare voltage, permitted lamp type or wattage, any enclosed-fixture or thermal instructions, dimmer/control compatibility, and location rating. Follow the fixture and lamp instructions for the actual installation.
If the fixture is an integrated LED module rather than a replaceable screw-base lamp, this comparison is not the replacement path. Identify the complete assembly first; see how to identify and change a replaceable recessed bulb and the spec-sheet guide for the fields that must match.
Two Manufacturer Product Records Show Why SKU Data Matters
These selected LEDVANCE / SYLVANIA records are concrete examples, not a claim that all BR30s or BR40s share their output, size, beam, or location characteristics. Their beam values are shown as “Not reported” because the cited product records do not report beam angle; that is not a zero-degree beam.
BR30
Item 42575 · SYLVANIA LED8BR30DIM8SC310YVRP
- Nominal diameter
- 3.75 in nominal diameter
- Actual diameter
- 3.74 in (95 mm)
- Length
- 5.118 in (130 mm)
- Selected SKU lumens
- 650 lm
BR40
Item 42576 · SYLVANIA LED13BR40DIM8SC310YVRP
- Nominal diameter
- 5.00 in nominal diameter
- Actual diameter
- 4.724 in (120 mm)
- Length
- 6.26 in (159 mm)
- Selected SKU lumens
- 1,100 lm
| Field | BR30Item 42575 · SYLVANIA LED8BR30DIM8SC310YVRP | BR40Item 42576 · SYLVANIA LED13BR40DIM8SC310YVRP |
|---|---|---|
| Manufacturer record | LEDVANCE Contractor Series 5CCT PDF — item 42575Product p.2 · dimensions p.3 · location p.1 | LEDVANCE Contractor Series 5CCT PDF — item 42576Product p.2 · dimensions p.3 · location p.1 |
| Nominal diameter | 3.75 in nominal diameter | 5.00 in nominal diameter |
| Actual diameter (PDF p.3) | 3.74 in (95 mm) | 4.724 in (120 mm) |
| Overall length (PDF p.3) | 5.118 in (130 mm) | 6.26 in (159 mm) |
| Lumens (PDF p.2) | 650 lm | 1,100 lm |
| Nominal watts (PDF p.2) | 8 W | 13 W |
| Base (PDF p.2) | E26 | E26 |
| Voltage (PDF p.2) | 120 V | 120 V |
| CRI (PDF p.2) | 80 | 80 |
| CCT (PDF p.2) | 2700/3000/3500/4000/5000 K | 2700/3000/3500/4000/5000 K |
| Beam / distribution (PDF p.2) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Location statement (PDF p.1) | Damp listed | Damp listed |
The two records have different output and power values, but those values belong to these models—not to the BR number by itself. Their actual diameters also illustrate why the naming convention and a product’s stated dimensions should both be checked.
Choose by Your Existing Fixture and the Light You Need
Choose the lamp that the existing fixture can accept and that has a verified physical envelope. Then select light using the product’s stated lumens, color setting, color rendering, and distribution information. A larger BR label does not replace either check.
Ready to shortlist a bulb? Keep an exact SKU as a purchase candidate only when the fixture instructions permit its lamp type, its actual diameter and length clear the trim and obstructions, and the voltage, location, enclosure and control conditions match. If any check is unresolved, get the missing product documentation before ordering.
| Situation | Collect first | Next action |
|---|---|---|
| A BR30 is already installed | Lamp marking, fixture label, actual clearances and the candidate BR40 product record. | Compare the candidate’s actual diameter and length plus every fixture instruction before treating it as a replacement. |
| The trim or lamp is crowded | Opening, trim aperture, lamp diameter/length, and nearby obstruction measurements. | Measure the fixture parts separately; do not choose from the “4-inch” or “6-inch” fixture label alone. |
| You need a different amount or pattern of light | Exact SKU lumens, CCT/CRI and beam/distribution data where provided. | Use the spec-sheet checklist before changing a room plan. If distribution is absent, obtain the manufacturer data rather than assuming it from BR30/BR40. |
| Damp or exposed location matters | Current fixture instructions and the selected lamp’s location statement. | Confirm the complete combination for that location; a base type or a BR shape does not establish a wet or damp rating. |
The calculator estimates a general-lighting count and layout from disclosed inputs. It does not identify a lamp, approve a substitution, validate fixture ratings, or create missing optical data.
Sources and Scope
Maintained by Recessed Light Calculator. This is a lamp-nomenclature and product-check guide, not a fixture test, installation instruction, or universal compatibility chart. The diagram is original and conceptual, not to scale and not a manufacturer installation drawing.
- LEDVANCE, “Light Bulb Sizes: A/B/C/CA/R/MR/BR/PAR/G/T Type Explained” — checked October 15, 2026; supports the general convention that the number indicates bulb diameter in eighths of an inch. The page’s 30/8 and 40/8 calculations apply that stated convention to BR30 and BR40.
- LEDVANCE, “BR30 vs. BR40: What’s the Difference?” — checked October 15, 2026; a plain-language BR30/BR40 reference used only alongside the naming and product-record sources below.
- LEDVANCE Contractor Series 5CCT Selectable LED Family, LED620R3 (January 2026) — source for both displayed SKUs: product fields on PDF p.2 (items 42575/42576), physical dimensions on p.3, and the damp-location line on p.1. No enclosed-fixture approval is inferred from the document’s separate A19 language.
Recheck the current lamp and fixture documentation for the exact model, configuration and installation conditions before purchase or replacement. To report a correction, use Contact.